Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.
Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board
Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D., Professor and former Chair (1978-1998) of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, the University of California, San Francisco, received his AB, BS, and MS degrees from the University of Michigan, and his Ph.D. from UCSF. The recipient of eight honorary doctorates, Dr. Benet served as President of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1985) and in 1986 became a founder and first President of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). His most recent honors are the 2010 American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics Hunter Award in Therapeutics, the 2011 Distinguished Investigator Award of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology, Honorary Membership in the International Pharmaceutical Federation in 2012, and the 2013 Ebert Prize of the American Pharmacists Association. Dr. Benet has published over 530 scientific articles and book chapters, holds 11 patents, and has served as editor of seven books. He is listed by ISI among the most highly cited pharmacologists worldwide, his peer-reviewed publications having been cited more than 19,000 times.